A Celebration of S. J. Peploe at 150 | An Online Talk by Alice Strang

02/12/2021 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Alice Strang with Peploe's 'Roses and Fruit'

 

 

Join Senior Specialist, Alice Strang for the free, online talk A Celebration of S. J. Peploe at 150 at 7pm on Thursday 02 December 2021 inspired by the special focus on the Scottish Colourist in our Scottish Paintings & Sculpture auction on 09 December, which marks the 150th anniversary of the year of Peploe’s birth. 

Alice has recently joined us as a Senior Specialist in Modern and Contemporary Art. She was previously a Senior Curator at the National Galleries of Scotland, where she curated the 2012 Peploe retrospective exhibition. 

The talk will begin by introducing Peploe as one of Scotland’s most important twentieth-century artists. It will then consider his position amongst his fellow Scottish Colourists, F. C. B. Cadell, J. D. Fergusson and G. L. Hunter. In conclusion, Alice will place Peploe within a wider context of modern Scottish art, including the younger painters Anne Redpath and Joan Eardley.

 

Discover More // Watch Live 

 


 

Event Information 

 

A CELEBRATION OF S. J. PEPLOE AT 150

An On-line Talk by Alice Strang

Thursday 02 December 2021 at 7pm

 Live Streamed Event

 


 

Auction Information

 

SCOTTISH PAINTINGS & SCULPTURE
featuring S.J. Peploe at 150

Thursday, 9th December 2021

Live Online | Edinburgh

 

View the auction catalogue ⇒ 

 


Hear more about Events & Valuation Days

 

 

 


 

Forthcoming Auctions

 

Contemporary & Post-War Art // Prints & Multiples

Contemporary & Post-War Art // Prints & Multiples

Wed, 10th Aug 2022 10:00
Scottish Works of Art & Whisky

Scottish Works of Art & Whisky

Wed, 17th Aug 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Thu, 7th Jul 2022
Five Centuries

Five Centuries

Thu, 1st Sep 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Fri, 15th Jul 2022
Jewellery

Jewellery

Wed, 14th Sep 2022 14:00
Last consignment: Fri, 5th Aug 2022
Asian Works of Art

Asian Works of Art

Thu, 15th Sep 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Fri, 22nd Jul 2022
Select Jewellery

Select Jewellery

Tue, 11th Oct 2022 14:00
Last consignment: Fri, 26th Aug 2022
DESIGN Since 1860

DESIGN Since 1860

Wed, 12th Oct 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Wed, 10th Aug 2022
MODERN MADE: Modern & Post-War Art, Design & Studio Ceramics

MODERN MADE: Modern & Post-War Art, Design & Studio Ceramics

Fri, 28th Oct 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Wed, 10th Aug 2022
Fine Asian & Islamic Works of Art

Fine Asian & Islamic Works of Art

Fri, 4th Nov 2022 10:00
Last consignment: Fri, 16th Sep 2022